Mythics Blog

Oracle Expands Government Cloud with National Security Regions for IC and DoD

Posted on September 17, 2020 by Nelle Doyle

Tags: Government Cloud, Oracle Cloud, Department of Defense, DoD, GovCloud, Security Regions, Cloud, Cloud Computing, Oracle, Security

Oracle has announced the expansion of the Oracle Government Cloud with National Security Regions for US Intelligence Community and Department of Defense customers.

This is a significant development as the additional regions were developed at DISA Impact Level 6, Secret and Top-Secret security levels. These levels require many capabilities, including extensive security controls, in-depth auditing and strong encryption. The National Security Regions for the Intelligence Community and DoD will help support a highly secured cloud environment and continue to support government customers' needs.

Curious about DoD Impact Levels and what they mean? Please review one of our previous blogs by Brian McCune, one of our senior leaders in Mythics Federal Consulting, to learn more about the current Cloud Security Model and the four impact levels: DoD Impact Levels and Provisional Authorizations for Oracle Cloud Apps and OCI, Explained.

If you are interested in learning more about Oracle Cloud as an option for your agency or organization, the Mythics Oracle Cloud Viability Assessment (CVA) is a great starting point to help us guide and collaborate with you to select the right cloud approach that fits your requirements, budget and unique environment or security needs. Mythics can help architect, securely migrate, and provide ongoing sustainment services to help maximize success. 

Contact us today if you have any questions about the expansion of the Oracle Government Cloud and the addition of the National Security regions, or visit

Nelle Doyle, Senior Vice President, Federal Sales




Press Release:

Oracle Expands Government Cloud with National Security Regions for US Intelligence Community

Delivers Oracle’s high performance Gen 2 Cloud platform with enhanced security for classified workloads

To support growing customer demand, Oracle today announced a major expansion of the Oracle Government Cloud with the addition of National Security Regions for US Intelligence Community (IC) and Department of Defense (DoD) customers.

These regions were developed to address IC and DoD needs at DISA Impact Level 6, Secret and Top Secret security levels, with capabilities including strong encryption, in-depth auditing, and robust security controls. Oracle National Security Regions support both ICD 705 and ICD 503 requirements. Oracle’s Cloud Network Operations Center (CNOC) is accredited for Secret and Top Secret data and is operated by appropriately-cleared personnel.

Oracle Cloud provides customers with a compelling array of advanced technology, including high performance data analytics at massive scale, machine learning-enabled applications, integrated security tools, automated analytics, and Oracle Autonomous Database. Oracle’s EverythingEverywhere ™ initiative drives technical and operational parity across commercial and Government regions.

“Oracle is proud to offer National Security Regions to the DoD and IC to help securely run their most-demanding, mission-critical classified workloads. These cloud regions offer the industry’s fastest growing suite of IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS in a highly-secured classified cloud environment,” said Glen Dodson, senior vice president of Oracle’s National Security Group.

These National Security Regions augment Oracle’s five unclassified Government cloud regions which are FedRAMP High and DoD Impact Level 5 authorized, as well as Oracle’s 20 global cloud regions spanning five continents.  Oracle Cloud Infrastructure-Government Cloud has achieved dozens of certifications and attestations for key security standards around the globe, including SOC, ISO, PCI, and HIPAA. These compliance programs, validated by independent third-party auditors, demonstrate Oracle's commitment to security and to addressing the needs of government customers.

Oracle is a long-standing strategic technology partner of the U.S. Government. Many federal, state and local customers are using Oracle to deliver critical government services. Oracle’s cloud services are used by 8 of the top 10 federal agencies by budget, all 4 branches of the U.S. military, and 36 states. Globally, more than 1,000 public sector organizations take advantage of Oracle’s industry-leading technologies and superior performance.



  • ! No comments yet

Leave a Comment